Tuesday, December 4, 2007

Last One

Well my friends...I'm afraid to say this will be the last post I write while in our beloved country Mexico.

Tonight Eva wants to take Christmas pictures with me like these I took with Kirena last year:

But let's face it, it's not gonna work out.
A) because I don't have my big camera here,
B) because we don't have anywhere to take the pictures,
C) because I don't have any of my Christmas-y clothes or make-up colors here,
and D) because she's not Kirena! It just won't be the same.

So...there's that.

Then tomorrow I'm FINALLY learning how to make tortillas with Yazmin's maid in the afternoon. Yep. The same one who washed Raja.

Then Thursday is my Christmas/ Going Away party at the school.

Friday I'm taking my family out to a big fancy dinner.

Saturday I'm getting my nails done and going to the Super Tazon Azteca!! (Mexican Super Bowl)

And Sunday morning we're peacing out at 5:30am to head up to El Paso and then 12 hours later I'll be HOOMMEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So...goodbye? Thanks for all your prayers and support this semester. It's been a big comfort to know I have so many people at my back supporting me. Sorry I couldn't bring you more from this experience. And sorry I couldn't give you more of a "last post/ goodbye post."

Thanks, love, bye! See you back in the U.S. of A!

Saturday, December 1, 2007

Bus ride from hell...

Well…shortly after I wrote my last post, I called American Airlines again and changed my flight to Sunday the 9th instead of Saturday the 15th.

Let’s be honest, it’s time for me go. There simply is nothing left for me to do here. Every day I realize more and more what a failure this trip has been. It is time for me to go home. None of my goals were met, nothing I tried to do worked out; I’ve given up hope for this trip, and will be flying back home in 7 days. Sunday couldn’t come fast enough.

Wednesday night after I changed my flight, I made a list of things I wanted to do with my last 10 days “abroad” to take advantage of my time here and try to appreciate the city, etc. Those are turning out to be a failure too…

Originally I wanted to go out to the orphanage this Friday just for the day, to see everyone again and say goodbye to the kids and whatnot. I felt like I needed to since I told them I would come back. Well…as you’ve probably already guessed…that didn’t work out. So (again trying to take advantage of my time) I decided to have class in the morning, then I went to the mall by myself for a couple of hours (which I’ve been wanting to do and really enjoyed doing something on my own), and then I walked across the street and hopped on a bus. Yep.

Greg had told me a while back that sometime if I was bored and wanted to see more of the city, I should just hop on a bus cuz “you know it’ll always come back to where you got on it!” (All the bus routes run in circles). So…that’s what I did. I’ve been wanting to do it for a while just to see where it would take me. Meanwhile…I’ve been thinking the entire route would take at most an hour. So yesterday I get on the bus that I always take to school, Circunvalacion 1, and take a seat in the back. After about an hour I got a little worried, because I could tell we were WAY south in the city (I live in the north part) and not going in the direction of home. After (count ‘em) two and a half hours I was worried sick because it was starting to get dark and to rain and we were still NOWHERE close to being home. I recognized we were downtown, following the same route we’d taken about an hour before. I was very near tears the entire last hour and a half I was on that bus. I remembered one time months back when Yazmin had told me, “If you ever get on the wrong bus and get lost and have no idea where you are, just call me and I’ll come get you.” And so I called Yazmin. She must have sensed the fear and exhaustion in my voice because she immediately dropped everything and came to get me in about 15 minutes. As soon as I stepped off the bus and sat down in a little park to wait for her, I started crying. I was exhausted and had the worst headache from being frantically worried for the past 2 hours. Yazmin took me to her house and made me dinner and gave me milk and cookies (I’ve never felt more like a little girl who got lost from her parents) and then I just went home and slept. And slept. And slept. For 15 hours to be exact.

That experience just affirmed that I would like nothing more for this “journey” to be over and to go home. And asap.

I’m over it. Wayyyy over it.

7 days to go.

P.S. I’m really not sad. Please don’t feel sorry for me.